Envisioning Tech

Envisioning Tech

A year ago, I never thought I'd know the things I know, I never thought I would download any software from the Adobe Creative Suite package, I never thought I would know what Excel was really used for, or the name Power Bi, a year ago, I'd never have thought tech.

I, Anu

Hola! mucho gusto. My name is Anu, I use glasses, I have a thing for gadgets and I like to sleep. I live an average life, my life so far has been characterized by an insatiable passion for growth, my faith as a Christian, many successes and failures, and love for KFC chicken that many have tried to explain but all have failed, including myself.

Gaining Exposure

A year ago, I got admitted into a prestigious university located in Ilorin, Kwara State, Nigeria and that was when my whole life took a different turn. I got the course of my choice, Economics, a course I had always had strange levels of interest in, and when we resumed, I moved to school. Shortly after, I realized that things were really going to change for me, I mean I now had so many responsibilities, the priorities being myself and the name I had to protect.

One day, I was asked if I had plans asides Economics, of course I didn't, I'd never thought so deeply about my life. Then I was told to reach out to someone who I now regard as my mentor and that was really when my journey into the world of tech began.

A Phone call

I got on the phone with my mentor and friend shortly after I introduced myself to him through texts. Then he asked what I had passion for and I said art, I've always loved art. He said okay we will start with Adobe Illustrator. Then, we discussed how it will be and what we will be doing in our classes and finally, he told me some stories about himself and how he started around the same time I did. Those stories are invaluable sources of motivation, I can never forget them.

A phone call, that was all it took to make me become a tech enthusiast.

What I do

I am a Graphic designer and Data Analyst. My analytical journey began with a company called Side Hustle. I applied to intern with them for a period of 6 weeks, got accepted and shortly after, we started having classes on Data Analytics. Fast-forward to 2 months later, I am enrolled in the BootCamp where we are being given weekly projects. As a graphic designer, I don't have a niche yet but I really enjoy illustrating.

I love what I do a lot because they grant me the ability to express different aspects of myself. Waking up every day and having the zeal to do something because you enjoy it is the second-best feeling, eating KFC chicken still has the no. 1 spot.

The Details

As a Graphic Designer I:

  • Design flyers and banners.

  • Make company brochures and brand identities.

  • Make 2d illustrations, I'm working on going into advanced aspects of illustrations.

  • Design various kinds of Mock-ups including, T-shirt mock-ups, Book cover mock-ups, and stationery mock-ups.

An example of my work: Day 3.png

The tools I use are Adobe Illustrator and Adobe Photoshop.

My aim as a designer is to help brands gain more visibility in the public place and to help them be remembered by potential customers.

As a Data Analyst I:

  • Work with large data sets, taking them with me on a journey of complex analysis to simplified results.

  • Visualise data to answer necessary questions.

  • Draw insights from my analysis to help individuals and organisations make better decisions.

  • Identify likely problems being faced by individuals and companies and profer possible solutions.

An example of a project I was a part of:

2022-06-18 (2).png I currently use Excel and Power bi as my tools for Data Analytics but, I have plans to pick up SQL and Phyton in the nearest future.

My aim as a Data Analyst is to achieve a constant level of analytical accuracy so that companies and individuals will trust my insights better and thus help them make the right decisions.

Currently..

At the moment, I am working with a team through the Side Hustle Bootcamp where I function as the assistant Team lead. We call ourselves DataloverZ and it has been so amazing. I work with wonderful people. We are given projects on a weekly basis and Side hustle took the phrase learn on the job quite seriously. We are making tremendous amounts of progress and I can't wait to engage my blog with all I have learnt.

My Page/Blog

My blog will mainly contain posts about my journey and insights from it, projects taken up and descriptions, challenges I face and how I overcome them, resources to help other Graphic designers and Analysts and every now and then, my love for KFC chicken😊.

My next few posts will be on my recent projects with the team and what I have learned so far.

My socials

My team blog: sh-da-pg15.hashnode.dev/our-journey-to-beco..

Official Welcome

Silver or Gold I have none but engagement of this page and resources I can share I assure you. With that being said, I officially welcome you to this page! Please engage the comment section as I am always open to feedback. I am also open to work/intern opportunities and collaborations.

You can reach me through my work email:

Have fun hashnoders! and don't forget to watch this space:)